LF Addington Middle School is nestled in the Appalachian mountain range in a small town called Wise. LF Addington is a feeder school to Central High School located just minutes away.


Built in 1976, the school was the result of extensive planning and effort.  The best and most modern concepts in education were used in planning the school.  The thoughts and ideas of students, teacher’s principals, architects, engineers, local education administrators and state department personnel went into the school


Wise Middle School was renamed after the late Luther Foster Addington.  He served in various capacities as an educator for 42 years and was the founder of the Historical Society of Southwest Virginia, as well as the president for 15 years. As a well-known local historian and author he wrote The Story of Wise County, along with several other books and articles.   Mr. Addington was named “Wise County’s Citizen of the Year” in 1956.


The bell display in the main lobby represents an exact replica of the front of the old facility that was replaced by the current building.  The bell mounted at the top rang daily to signal the opening of school all the way back to the early 190